Zaxxon Atari 5200 $90!!!!

Reserved for classic gaming discussions.
JNH

Postby JNH » August 7th, 2008, 3:16 pm

Is this fair?? $90 for Zaxxon for the 5200?? This game is the sole reason I'm considering buying this system and I see that the game is as much as the system NIB! Insane!

Michael Danehy

Postby Michael Danehy » August 7th, 2008, 6:54 pm

Is the Atari 5200 version that great? You can play arcade perfect Zaxxon with an emulator on your PC for free.

JNH

Postby JNH » August 7th, 2008, 9:59 pm

How? I've never done anything like that before...

Caf

Postby Caf » August 8th, 2008, 7:01 am

5200 Zaxxon has always been one of its higher cost games. I remember finding a loose cart for $20 and thinking I got a deal.

The game was a decent port back in its day, but it hasn't held up. There is too much cut out and the gameplay is more shallow than the coin-op version.

You can play the coinop version on the SEGA Genesis Collection for Playstation 2. Or use Mame on your PC.

Alienblue

Postby Alienblue » August 8th, 2008, 1:44 pm

....first, I recall this being adverstised along with FROGGER 2 for the 5200 in COMPUTE! Magazine...does that mean FROGGER 2 is also rare? I don't have 5200 Zaxxon, but I have FROGGER 2.

The ABSOLUTE BEST VERSION OF ZAXXON, sadly, most of you will never play. It is the ADAM COMPUTER SUPERGAME. It starts off just like the Colecovision cart with slightly better graphics, but then continues with FOUR MORE BRAND NEW ASTEROIDS! And there is a FINAL BOSS-ZAXXON JUNIOR. Beat him and you beat the game and get a special ending-one of the very first for games!