Questions about home brew titles

General and high profile video game topics.
matmico1

Postby matmico1 » February 17th, 2015, 11:33 pm

Sorry but I have fallen behind in the video game world lately.

I understand what home brew titles are. But where do you purchase these games? And they are available in the old cartridge format of the old systems? Please inform me of this. Busy raising kids but I luv having a few brews and playing on classic game consoles in the evening, just like Dave! =)

Thanks!

scotland171

Postby scotland171 » February 18th, 2015, 10:38 am

[QUOTE=matmico] ... where do you purchase these games? And they are available in the old cartridge format of the old systems? Please inform me of this. Busy raising kids but I luv having a few brews and playing on classic game consoles in the evening, just like Dave! =) Thanks![/QUOTE]

Yeah.  Same shoes here.  I'm no expert (there are some here on the forum), but here are my 2 bits.

I have used several sources for homebrew games, such as Packrat Video Games and AtariAge.  LS's Death Race for the Odyssey 2 was from 2600Connection, I believe.  There might be differentiations between homebrew, hack, and reproduction.  Prices vary, with some as little as $15, most in the $25-$30 range I think.   They are cartridges that play in the original systems.  I don't know how they are manufactured, but I would not be surprised if common carts were being repurposed.   

There are multicarts, where some, like the Odyssey 2 mulitcart, are static in that you cannot add new games. Selection is by changing physical switches.  Others, like the Atari Harmony Cart, use flash storage.  Some homebrews are released as ROMs, others are only available as cartridges.  

Some of the Flashback units have also included homebrew games for those systems.  Some of those may only be available on the Flashback units.