Windows 8

Tell us about games you are currently playing. "Quick hit" reviews.
Astrosmasher1

Windows 8

Postby Astrosmasher1 » March 10th, 2013, 1:12 pm

Normally I would not class and operating system as a game but windows 8 is different.  Really the first day I started playing with it I thought are MS having a laugh?  This product is not finished.  It reminds me a lot of the Jaguar promised so much but fails to deliver.   Though after four days use i have given up on it and started using the desktop portion exclusively.  The tiles and charms can take a run and jump.  So when you upgrade be warned windows 8 aint no friend of mine

Astrosmasher1

Windows 8

Postby Astrosmasher1 » March 10th, 2013, 4:08 pm

though it would probably be different if I had bough a clunky surface with Windows RT on it.  As then these tiles come into there own.  Games wise I downloaded the free jewel drop which is a poor man's bejeweled. Some game where I had to guess advertising sologans and a Chess game that wiped the floor with me.  They were quite good fun well for free. 
You go into the apps store and there is not that much there.  Though it is early days.

sixam1

Windows 8

Postby sixam1 » March 11th, 2013, 3:35 pm

Are you using Windows 8 on a desktop PC, and controlling it with a mouse. I havn't tried it yet, but my understanding is that Windows 8 is better suited for tablets that use a touchscreen.

steephen1

Windows 8

Postby steephen1 » March 11th, 2013, 11:23 pm

It's going to be another XP for me......with XP I tried it and went back to 2000, now I have to go back to 7.

Astrosmasher1

Windows 8

Postby Astrosmasher1 » March 12th, 2013, 12:46 pm