Donkey Kong 64 (N64)

Tell us about games you are currently playing. "Quick hit" reviews.
Herschie

Donkey Kong 64 (N64)

Postby Herschie » September 6th, 2018, 2:45 pm

I just started playing this for the first time. The intro and beginning are ok. As bad as you want to jump into the game, I actually like how they force you into the training stages because the controls would have been much harder to figure out and the training doesn't last all that long.

The one thing that's killing the experience is the camera. Like many other early 3D titles, the camera can be very awkward, and that can make things like jumping vines and trees much more difficult than they should be.

I'm surprised with all the random jungle noises that my dog isn't going bananas! See what I did there?

Retro STrife

Re: Donkey Kong 64 (N64)

Postby Retro STrife » September 6th, 2018, 3:13 pm

I've always struggled to enjoy 3D platformers from that era and Donkey Kong 64 is no exception. I played it back when it was new and could never get into it. It takes a lot for me to give up on a game (especially back then when I had a lot less to play), but DK64 was boring enough that I called it quits after several hours of trying. Keep us posted as you play further in.

ptdebate

Postby ptdebate » September 6th, 2018, 3:59 pm

I, like RetroStrife, never got into the single player mode of this game. My friends and I got a huge kick out of the multiplayer, however. It's extremely chaotic and asymmetrical as all of the characters have widely different abilities. I wouldn't describe it as polished or particularly well thought out, but it is really comical to play with 3 friends. I really miss all of the four-player splitscreen deathmatch games from this time period.

LoganRuckman

Postby LoganRuckman » September 7th, 2018, 5:31 am