NHL 94 Rewind

Tell us about games you are currently playing. "Quick hit" reviews.
newmodelarmy

NHL 94 Rewind

Postby newmodelarmy » January 10th, 2021, 6:36 am

Happy New Year to you all. Well I cannot resist a PSN sale so I picked up NHL 21/NHL94 Rewind for $30 as part of the PSN Holiday Sale. Anyway, I thought it would be fun to be able to play NHL 94 with updated rosters on the PS4. What could go wrong? Well, how about the speed? When I started playing I thought for sure it was a setting issue but alas, there is no way to adjust the speed of the game. The game plays as if the players are skating in mud instead of on ice. After playing a few games and pretending I was enjoying it I thought "maybe it was not as fast or fluid as I remember". So, I fired up my modded Sega Genesis Mini and played NHL 94 on that and sure enough, that version played just like I remembered it. Very fast and fluid. Needless to say NHL 94 Rewind is a complete disappointment. Has anybody else played this? Am I missing something? I hope I am otherwise I would not recommend this version of NHL 94, you are not missing anything.

VideoGameCritic
Site Admin

Re: NHL 94 Rewind

Postby VideoGameCritic » January 10th, 2021, 8:13 am

I remember having the same basic experience with the "rewind" edition when I played it over a friend's house a few years back. It was probably NHL 14 which would have been the 20th anniversary. It had the controls and sound effects of the old 94 game, but not the graphics or gameplay. Kind of misleading. Kids playing this today must think NHL 94 stinks!

newmodelarmy

Postby newmodelarmy » January 11th, 2021, 7:01 am