Tomb Raider Movie

Talk about music, movies, television, books, and other media. No religious or political discussion allowed.
VideoGameCritic
Site Admin

Tomb Raider Movie

Postby VideoGameCritic » November 18th, 2018, 10:55 am

I watched the new Tomb Raider movie last night and here are a few thoughts.

First, I think Alicia Vikander was miscast. I know they were going for a young, athletic Lara Croft, but the actress simply does not look like Lara Croft! I've been playing her games for 20 years so I would know! In addition she lacks the sex appeal that Angelina Jolie had brought to the role.

The movie begins slowly, but picks up during the CGI-heavy shipwreck and rusted-airplane-on-the-edge-of-a-waterfall scenes. The airplane looks fake but these scenes are fun to watch. They look like something from the games.

The second half is pretty bland, and while some critics have praised the lack of effects, I think they might have helped. It's almost hard to maintain interest. The movie sets up for a sequel but I'm not sure this movie earned it.

Thoughts?

Sonicx9

Re: Tomb Raider Movie

Postby Sonicx9 » November 18th, 2018, 11:05 am

VideoGameCritic wrote:I watched the new Tomb Raider movie last night and here are a few thoughts.

First, I think Alicia Vikander was miscast. I know they were going for a young, athletic Lara Croft, but the actress simply does not look like Lara Croft! I've been playing her games for 20 years so I would know! In addition she lacks the sex appeal that Angelina Jolie had brought to the role.

The movie begins slowly, but picks up during the CGI-heavy shipwreck and rusted-airplane-on-the-edge-of-a-waterfall scenes. The airplane looks fake but these scenes are fun to watch. They look like something from the games.