Difficulty Level

General and high profile video game topics.
jackj5000

Difficulty Level

Postby jackj5000 » December 28th, 2020, 2:20 pm

What difficulty level do you usually prefer to play on? I thought about this the other day when I was playing a game that in the past I played on the higher difficulty. I started playing, and then decided meh, I'll play on an easier level. I see myself doing that more and more, the challenge isn't as satisfying anymore, and I'd rather just make it through the game instead of spending more time trying to master it. Thoughts?

VideoGameCritic
Site Admin

Re: Difficulty Level

Postby VideoGameCritic » December 28th, 2020, 5:49 pm

I'm pretty much in the same boat. When I start playing a game I usually select normal to gauge the difficulty. But once I hit a wall I usually drop the difficulty (if possible) so I can actually enjoy the game!

Even on easy there's no guarantees, but you'll probably save a lot of time.

Herschie

Postby Herschie » December 28th, 2020, 6:07 pm

I'm between a rock and a hard place in that All-Pro is too easy but I can't quite hack it on All-Madden. This is for the PS2.

jackj5000

Postby jackj5000 » December 29th, 2020, 9:20 am

I'm playing a couple games right now. The Witcher 3, I played a couple years ago on normal difficulty. For me it wasn't too bad, but it took a little while to master some of the mechanics, and that extended my play time quite a bit. Got pretty far but didn't actually finish it. This time I started on normal, died a couple times, then took it down to easy. I just want to make it through the game this time. Also playing Doom Eternal, trying it on normal for now. Died a couple times, but not too bad for now.

Cafeman

Postby Cafeman » December 29th, 2020, 12:49 pm

The impact of difficulty setting varies so much across different games.