Will the Collecting Bubble ever pop??

General and high profile video game topics.
VideoGameCritic
Site Admin

Will the Collecting Bubble ever pop??

Postby VideoGameCritic » May 17th, 2021, 8:45 pm

Have you guys noticed the price of old video games (on ebay for example) is out of control? I mean, even a common loose Game Boy cartridge might run you more than $30. Complete in the box? We're talking hundreds if not thousands of dollars.

I've talking to some people about it who has explained that ALL collectibles - whether it's shoes or games or trading cards - have gone through the roof during this COVID crisis. Did you hear that Target just stopped carrying trading cards because people were FIGHTING over them??

My question to you is, will this bubble ever pop? Will game prices ever come down to reasonable levels? I have my doubts. I've been collecting for over 20 years and I have never noticed ANY drop in game values. But since I'm not collecting for investment's sake, I think I would welcome it.

Thoughts?

JustLikeHeaven

Re: Will the Collecting Bubble ever pop??

Postby JustLikeHeaven » May 18th, 2021, 8:23 am

I've noticed the hike in price. It's by far the biggest increase I've seen since the initial YouTube personality explosion over a decade ago.

I don't know if it will necessarily burst, but I think something will eventually change. I think part of it will be more and more companies making their older titles available via new physical media/compilation collections. I'm at the point where I'm not going to buy a copy of Earthbound, but if Nintendo were to release a Mother Anniversary Collection I'd be fine just owning that. I don't need the original as long as the new version is emulated correctly.

As long as I'm able to play the games I'm happy at this point. The novelty of owning the original stuff is long gone. As long as it's officially released and identical the original game I'm good.

bluenote

Postby bluenote » May 18th, 2021, 9:40 am